To be eligible for the CMET Physician Certification exam, candidates must meet the following criteria:

  • Hold a current state license to practice medicine.
  • There should be no disciplinary actions against the candidate’s license. Have at least 2 years’ experience in wound healing, either in private practice or a recognized Wound Care center. 
  • Complete a comprehensive, CME-accredited education course that is at least 20 hours

The exam is a comprehensive test spanning various aspects of wound care.

  • Format: 150 multiple-choice questions.
  • Duration: 3 hours.
  • Platform: Online or at designated Prometric centers.

Domains Covered

  • Wound Healing Environment 19%
  • Assessment and Diagnosis 26%
  • Patient Management 17%
  • Etiological Considerations 28%
  • Professional Issues 10%

Individuals who pass the certification exam successfully are entitled to utilize the designation CWHP (Certified Wound Healing Physician) for a duration of 5 years.

Complimentary Membership

APWH supports the credentialing efforts of CMET. As part of this support, APWH will provide individuals taking their initial certification exam with a complimentary 1-year membership.