Advanced Practitioner

APRN, Nurse Practitioners, and Physician Assistants


To be eligible for the CMET Advanced Practice Certification exam, candidates must meet the following criteria:

  • Hold a current APRN, NP, or PA state license.
  • There should be no disciplinary actions against the candidate’s license. Have at least 2 years’ experience in wound healing, either in private practice or a recognized Wound Care center. 
  • Complete a comprehensive, CME-accredited education course that is at least 20 hours

The exam is a comprehensive test spanning various aspects of wound care.

  • Format: 144 multiple-choice questions
  • Duration: 3 hours
  • Platform: Online or at designated Prometric centers

Domains Covered

  • Diagnosis and management
  • Specific ulcer types like diabetic, venous, pressure, and ischemic ulcers
  • Diabetes and other disease entities and its impact on wound healing
  • A-Typical skin lesions
  • Infection considerations
  • Wound healing histology
  • Medical documentation and legal implications
  • Burns

Individuals who pass the certification exam successfully are entitled to utilize the designation CWHAP (Certified Wound Healing Advanced Practitioner) for a duration of 5 years.

Complimentary Membership

APWH supports the credentialing efforts of CMET. As part of this support, APWH will provide individuals taking their initial certification exam with a complimentary 1-year membership.